All-Works Maid – Volume 2 Chapter 20: All Because of a Single Book

It was around noon on the sixth day of the third week…

After finishing their lunches, Luciana and Luna were relaxing on a bench under a tree in the courtyard; the atmosphere in the classroom was still as oppressive as usual, so there was little they could do but leave and go elsewhere.

Luna had just finished telling Luciana about the maid Sasha had met yesterday, Anna. Luciana had already learned about her from Melody but hearing about the same person from someone else gave her a better idea of the person in question.

“No wonder why they call Lady Annemarie the ‘perfect lady’. She is so methodical, to go as far as having her servants assist in the investigation.”

“She really is, isn’t she? So you can’t give up hope, Luciana. I know I can’t do as much for you as Lady Annemarie can, but I will still do my best to support… Oh, uh-oh…”

“What’s wrong?”

“I just remembered: I had completely forgotten today was the due date for returning a book I borrowed from the library. How careless of me…”

“Oh no, what book was it?”

“Huh? It was… It was the book you recommended, you know, ‘A Children’s Guide to Basic Magicks’.”

“Oh, that one? I remember I ended up not borrowing it because I suddenly became able to use magic.”

“I borrowed it to read since you said it was easy to understand, but, well, I still can’t use magic.”

“Oh, that’s too bad. But why are you returning it right now? Are you really busy after school today?”

“…Something like that. I’m really sorry, Luciana. I might be late coming back, so you don’t need to wait for me. I’ll see you later!”

“All right, if you say so.”

And so Luna hurried away as Luciana saw her off with a smile.

Luciana felt herself relaxing as she waited for Luna’s return; the wind blew quite pleasantly, causing the swaying leaves to rustle in a comforting way.

She quietly began to doze off in the serenity of her surroundings when Luna returned.

“Sorry to have kept you waiting, Luciana. Looks like I was able to return before it was time for afternoon classes to begin.”

“Oh, you were faster than I expected. I was just about to fall asleep when you returned and woke me up.”

“If you take a nap now, afternoon classes might be a little harder to get through. Oh that reminds me, our final exams should be coming up soon. Would you like to–“

“Luciana Luthorburg!”

An angry screech echoed across the courtyard, shattering the peaceful atmosphere and shocking the girls into stillness. It had come from a male classmate, one who was not particularly fond of Luciana.

“Oh you’ve really done it this time, Luciana Luthorburg!”

“‘Done it’? What are you talking about?”

“Shut up and get over here!”

“Ahh!”

“Luciana!”

He grabbed Luciana by the arm and began dragging her along, ignoring the screaming Luna as he brought Luciana to the classroom.

Most of their other classmates were already inside, and they all regarded Luciana with suspicion… no, with hostility. The atmosphere in the classroom had worsened even further from how it had been just yesterday.

“Umm, could someone explain what exactly is going on?”

Luna carefully spoke up on behalf of Luciana, who had frozen over under the pressure of her classmates’ gazes. It took a moment before each of their classmates began explaining the events. To summarize…

“Someone splashed water all over Lady Annemarie?!”

“‘Someone’?! Don’t act all innocent! We all know it was you who did it! It’s so obvious!”

The male student who dragged Luciana over had shouted over her; Luciana seemed to wilt at first under the force of his tone, but she held fast and continued to listen.

During lunchtime, when Annemarie was returning to the classroom having finished her student council duties, a large sphere of water had suddenly appeared above her head before dropping onto her. Both Crown Prince Christopher and Maxwell Lycrents, as well as several other witnesses, had seen it happen.

It had happened somewhere completely removed from the courtyard Luciana and Luna had been at: the upper floor of the school building. The witnesses to the scene claimed to have seen someone with blonde hair escaping through the window following the incident.

“So are you saying it was Luciana who did it?”

“She’s the only one who would do such a despicable thing!”

“How could you say something like that?! Besides, Luciana was with me the entire lunch break!”

“Were you two really together the entire time? There wasn’t any moment during the break when you weren’t together?”

“Th-that’s… I mean, I had to go to the library to return a book, so I had to leave her alone for a moment, but..!”

“See? She doesn’t even have a perfect alibi!”

“N-no, I mean… This is all just circumstantial evidence…”

Luna could hardly repond against the boy’s overbearing arguments; while she was right to point out the circumstantial evidence, it was clear that was enough proof for their classmates to pin Luciana as the culprit.

“Everyone, please calm yourselves. We should not be drawing conclusions based only on speculation.”

“Lady Annemarie!”

Annemarie entered the classroom with Christopher and Maxwell behind her. She looked over first to Luciana, then Luna, and finally over the other classmates; it was easy for her to guess what was happening.

“I will say it again: we should not be accusing anyone without real proof. I especially, as the victim of this latest incident, do not want anyone to be jumping to conclusions.”

“But..!”

“In the first place, assuming Miss Luciana truly was the perpetrator, then how did she do it? Are you implying she emptied a bucket of water on me? That would be impossible. No, in this case, it would have to involve magic.”

Of course, Annemarie knew Luciana was not the culprit, let alone a possible suspect; if anything, Annemarie wanted to clear her of any suspicion, and so she brought up the point about using magic. She had assumed Luciana was unable to use magic, so by including that factor in the argument…

“So unless she could somehow use water magic and then aimed for me, on the third floor, it would be impossible for her to–“

“Luciana might be able to use water magic, but there’s no way she would be able to reach the third floor with it!”

A terrible silence fell over the classroom.

“Miss Luciana… Are you able to use magic?”

“Uh, um… Err, yes, I can. But I can only conjure a teacup’s worth of water–“

“Aha! I knew it! You were guilty this whole time!!”

“What?! No, that’s not what I mean!”

But the boy’s indictment was like the starting signal for the other students in the classroom to begin condemning Luciana. Her own arguments fell on deaf ears, drowned beneath the furious sea of voices churning around this new piece of “evidence”.

It was as though mass hysteria had descended upon the classroom, and Annemarie knew not how to stop it. All she could do was keep an eye on Olivia Rankdol, but the duke’s daughter was simply observing.

Her inaction was a strange sight. After all, Olivia had regarded Luciana with hostility even before the incidents started. Annemarie had expected her to take advantage of this opportunity to join the fray, so it was strange to see her calmly observing from behind her fan.

Was she looking for an opening, biding her time until the perfect moment presented itself to her?

(So are you actually the Witch of Envy, Olivia? You were supposed to be the victim for this part in the game, so I didn’t expect to take your place instead… Wait, but then…)

— Then who would take Annemarie’s role and become the villainess?

At the very moment Annemarie had that thought, Olivia loudly snapped her fan shut, immediately silencing the cacophony of voices. Olivia slowly approached Luciana with a confident gait, stopping within reach and pointing her closed fan at the noble girl.

Annemarie could scarcely believe her eyes, and yet the scene continued on…

“I believe I understand now, Lady Luthorburg. In the first incident, the victim was our class as a whole. In the second incident, the victims were the commoner students with wealthy backgrounds. And now, in this third incident, the victim was Lady Victirium, with whom you were forced to share the attention with at the Spring Ball!”

(…You have got to be kidding me.)

Annemarie had no words for this development; Olivia’s words, the entirety of this declaration, followed a script Annemarie was very, very familiar with.

“It is obvious you committed these crimes out of envy! You were jealous of those who were more talented, more promising than you were! How unsightly of you, Lady Luthorburg! Now, admit your guilt and prostrate yourself! Repent! Apologize!”

(Ahh! What the heck?! She actually did it! She actually seriously took my lines!)

The words Olivia said were the very same ones the Annemarie from the game had used to denounce the heroine. Well, the game’s Annemarie was far less eloquent, and the game’s Christopher had easily refuted her, but right now, with Olivia delivering a much more poignant speech amidst an incensed classroom of students, it was as though the duke’s daughter had condemned Luciana to a public lynching.

(So that makes Olivia the villainness. Then who’s the midboss? Who is the Witch of Envy?!)

For Annemarie, there were simply more questions that needed answers. Meanwhile, Christopher was able to calm the frenzied class, but it had become visibly apparent that Luciana now faced pure hostility.

That afternoon, Luciana returned straight to her dorm room, skipping her elective classes entirely. Having heard of their lady’s newest plight, Melody and Micah excused themselves from their assistant duties to better support Luciana.

“Ugh, how could things have ended up like this…”

Luciana had only complaints as she sipped Melody’s tea.It was fortunate that tomorrow was the break day, and they would be returning to the mansion this very evening. Melody was once again hoping that spending a day at home would restore her lady’s spirits.

But above all, Melody lamented her own uselessness. She had wanted to help her lady, to be there when her lady needed her the most, and yet here they were now, with Luciana once again bearing the weight of these false accusations.

(How could I think for even a moment I could be the greatest maid in the world if I was unable to support my lady in her time of need…)

There was no assuaging her doubt. Before, when Luciana had accepted Melody’s declaration of trust, Melody had felt she had gotten closer to her goal, but now? Now, Melody found herself doubting, wondering if that feeling had been a complete misunderstanding.

(It was so arrogant of me to assume that was all it took. How could I have thought such a thing…)

Melody could only wallow in her thoughts as she watched a depressed Luciana.

“Miss Melody, I have finished preparing the luggage for our return to the estate.”

“Thank you, Miss Micah. My lady, our travel preparations are complete. Shall we return to the mansion?”

“…In a bit. Let me enjoy this tea for a little while longer.”

After a few minutes, Luciana gently set her teacup back on its saucer.

“Please allow me, my lady.”

“Thank you, Micah.”

Luciana quietly thanks Micah, who smiled as she cleaned up the tea set. Once Micah was finished with the cleaning, it would be time for them to leave.

(I can only hope that this break will take her mind off the trouble…)

“…Generate pure water, Water Creation(Farediacqua).”

Luciana suddenly conjured a small sphere of water at her fingertip; it was barely large enough to fill a single teacup.

“I tried to tell them this was all my magic was capable of, but nobody believed me. And Luna had tried so hard to try and defend me…”

“I personally have not met with Lady Luna since the tea party on the first day, but from my lady’s own words, I know Lady Luna is a very kind person.”

“She is, indeed. She was even worried about being late in returning a book to the library. She’s just so nice, and I’m thankful that we became such good friends.”

“Did my lady say Lady Luna was returning a book to the library?”

“Yeah, the book was one that you mentioned: A Children’s Guide to Basic Magicks. Earlier, during lunch break, Luna had gone to the library to return it, leaving me alone. When our classmates found out about that, they said my alibi for the incident wasn’t good enough… Hm? What’s wrong, Melody? Was there something surprising?”

Melody’s eyes had suddenly widened; after a moment, she responded in a low, slow voice.

“My lady, just now, you said…”

“Hm? I said Luna had gone to return a book to the library, leaving me…”

“No, not that. What was the title of the book?”

“The title? It was A Children’s Guide to Basic Magicks. You remember that book, right Melody?”

Having heard Luciana’s confirmation, Melody quickly left the room before returning with a book in hand.

“Oh, that’s the book I was talking about.”

Indeed, Melody held in her hands that very same book: A Children’s Guide to Basic Magicks.

But it was Melody’s next words that shook Luciana to her very core.

“The book was lent to me, and… it is also the only copy available from the library.”

“Huh? I don’t get it. So Luna returned it, and you happened to borrow it immediately after?”

Melody shook her head.

“Sir Lect borrowed it for me… And that was five days ago.”

Luciana’s mind was drawing a blank; if Melody was right, then that would mean…

“B-but Luna, she said she was going to the library to return that book… What is going on?”

“My lady, are you certain you saw Lady Luna carrying this book?”

“No… I don’t know…”

Luciana shook her head in distress, paling as she put her thoughts in order.

“…Lady Luna has always stood up in my lady’s defense, against the accusations, is that not right?”

“Y-yeah! Yeah, that’s true!”

“And yet, it is also because of Lady Luna’s actions today that my lady has an imperfect alibi.”

“…”

“Furthermore, Lady Annemarie made the argument that it would be difficult for the crime to be committed if the culprit could not use water magic, correct?”

“Y-yeah…”

“And that was when Lady Luna spoke up to defend my lady… but also revealed my lady was actually capable of using water magic.”

“…”

Luciana felt her heart race; the beating seemed to grow in volume, echoing through her head. The implications behind Melody’s points gave way to a truly chilling conclusion…

(Luna… It can’t be…)

Luciana looked over to see Melody wearing a downcast expression; it was clear the maid had not intended to play at being a detective by showing off her deduction skills. Rather, she only wanted to point out the inconsistencies…

And as Luciana put her thoughts in order, it felt as though another voice inside her applied Melody’s logic to the other incidents, pointing out the other inconsistencies.

It was after my lost pencil was found in the first case that people began suspecting me, but how did it get there? Did Luna steal it? It would not have been hard for her to take it and then leave it behind in the classroom after she had finished…

(No! That’s just forcing a convenient excuse! Anyone could have done it!)

Then what about the second incident? Who was the first to point out how each of the victims were linked? And who was it that added more to the deductions? Furthermore, in this latest incident, the one whose words led to everyone condemning me was…”

“Just stop already!”

“My lady…”

Luciana cowered in distress, holding her hands to her ears, but it was too late. The seeds of doubt had already sprouted, and the only way she could stop its growth was to confront her suspicions and confirm the truth for herself.

“My apologies for taking so long with the dishes, but everything has been cleaned up now. Are we leaving… soon?”

Micah returned only to see Luciana curled on the floor; the apprentice maid looked over to Melody, but the maid also turned away, a pained expression on her face.

A moment later, Luciana got to her feet; she exhaled with great emphasis before looking up at the ceiling, and she decided…

“…We’re not returning home tonight.”

“Huh? We’re not going back?”

“Yes. There is one more thing, one last thing I have to confirm before we can leave.”

“My lady…”

Luciana could feel a dampness pooling in her eyes, and yet she held together as much as she could to keep from crying; she had to learn the truth, find out for herself why things were the way they were now before she could allow herself to cry.

“Micah, please send word back that we won’t be returning tonight. And Melody, can you make something light for dinner? I’ll be retiring for the night after dinner.”

“I-I’ll let them know right away!”

“Of course, my lady.”

Micah remained bewildered from this quick progression, but Melody answered Luciana with a polite bow.

The maid still had doubts about what she had done; was it truly fine to have pointed out those discrepancies? Yet, had she not done so, Luciana would eventually notice them for herself. Regardless, for now, it was Melody’s duty to continue watching over her lady and to support that determination…


4 responses to “All-Works Maid – Volume 2 Chapter 20: All Because of a Single Book”

  1. No… Not Luna!

    Like

  2. Thank you!

    Like

  3. I eat life for Breakfast! Avatar
    I eat life for Breakfast!

    So obvious. When they first met she almost called her Luthorbroke or whatever it is. Not to mention how the servants of Luna just happened to be missing the time they were in the cafeteria.

    Like

    1. Her last name makes it obvious too as it seems to also be name of the Roman goddess of envy

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started