Savage Fang – Volume 1 Afterword

First, I would like to thank everyone for picking up Lady Savage Fang – History’s Greatest Mercenary Reincarnates as the World’s Cruelest Lady and Becomes Peerless in this Second Life. This is Akashi Kakkaku speaking.

I would like to thank the illustrator, Kayahara-san, my head editor, the proofreaders, all the sales people, and the many others who were involved with the publishing.

And now that I’ve expressed my gratitude at the beginning as usual, I just want to say…

I’m so happy I was able to release a new series! Yay!

A lot of things happened this time around.

There was a lot of strange overlap in work, I got sick, I started writing a contemporary fantasy story on the side and then it somehow became a whole book… I ended up causing a lot of trouble.

…Huh? Are you saying I always mention how much trouble I’ve caused in the afterword?

Well, let’s not think too hard about it, or else my heart might just shatter into a thousand pieces.

No, but really, I am very sorry.

So let’s talk about this new series… The other series I’ve written all have long titles, but this one is especially long.

Well, it’s probably because I’ve combined the main title with a sub-title.

So from hereon, in the afterword or when I talk about it, I’ll just refer to it as Lady Savage Fang.

Content-wise, it’s similar to Bu ni Mi wo Sasagete Hyaku to Yonen. Elf de Yarinaosu Musha Shugyou, where the reincarnation stays in the same world. However, instead of reincarnating into the future, the main character is taken to the past, and the twist is that they became a completely different person.

So what do you think of this story, about how a barbaric mercenary becomes a noble lady?

I hope I was able to convey her dazzling manliness.

I struggled to write it in the beginning, and it wasn’t until I was writing the second half that I really began to feel it. It’s a little embarrassing if you were able to tell from the writing.

In fact, compared to my past works, we actually had many more revisions from the first draft, up until the last minutes.

And I’m really grateful to the person who took care of me, for cooperating with me the entire time. Thanks to you, we turned that first draft — one I had no confidence in — into a complete manuscript I am proud of!

I’m also very grateful to the illustrator, Kayahara-san.

I received the character designs in the middle of the revisions, so the characters of Lady Savage Fang were very clear in my mind.

In the climactic battle, for example, I wrote it that way because I kept thinking “I want to make this character do this!”. The designs were a huge influence on me.

And again, I would like to thank everyone!

Anyway, that’s all I had to say about the book itself.

As I’m writing this afterword, everyone around me is playing a certain game about hunting monsters.

Even though I haven’t been following from the beginning, I think it’s great that a series that’s been around for fifteen years is still releasing new games, and it’s wonderful that its story hasn’t come to an end yet.

It’s amazing whenever a new entry for a beloved series comes out… It made me feel a bit jealous, but seeing how the series continues to evolve and improve makes me happy that people loved it so.

And it’s wonderful that they continued to improve while staying true to their fundamentals.

I wish I could be just like that, even if only a little.

And as usual, I just ended up talking about games again, and now I’m running out of space in the afterword.

Me being me, I’ve written a lot of afterwords, and I keep thinking about how I’ve run out of things to say, but then, before I know it, I’ve almost finished writing it anyway. Maybe I just enjoy writing my afterwords more than I think.

And as usual, allow me to put down my pen for a moment to thank everyone.

Thank you so much for picking up Lady Savage Fang.

The world is going through a difficult time right now, but I hope this book was able to help alleviate some of the rising stress of everyday life, even if only a little bit.

Anyway, I hope to see everyone again next time!


5 responses to “Savage Fang – Volume 1 Afterword”

  1. Thanks for the translation. Will you be doing the next volume too?

    Like

  2. That’s definitely Monster Hunter series isn’t it? The core of the series has never changed really. Hunt monsters, gather materials, explore maps, forge new and better weapons and equipment then repeat. I loved playing it with my friend and brother back then, hunting monsters together. Not like I can anymore in RL. It’s just solo hunting now.

    Like

  3. Thank you very much for the translation. I really like this work I hope they continue to publish it.

    Like

  4. Thank you so much for the translation!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started